Find The Africa Channel

Enter your zip code or select a country to see if The Africa Channel is available in your area.


Several Caribbean Countries Impose Ebola Travel Bans

JC Finley | UPI   in 
November 7, 2014

MONTEGO BAY, Jamaica, Oct. 17 (UPI) — Several Caribbean nations have imposed a travel ban on residents and travelers of the countries hardest hit by the Ebola outbreak, namely Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone.

In Jamaica, the ban applies to “persons ordinarily resident in Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone as well as persons who have traveled to or transited through Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone, within 28 days of having departed from these countries.”

Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica and St. Lucia are among a growing group of countries to impose such travel bans.

St. Lucia’s prime minister, Kenny Anthony, explained his support for a travel ban was based on economic and infrastructure considerations. St. Lucia, he said, is too poor “to manage any crisis that lands on our doorstep, any crisis of that kind,” adding that an outbreak of Ebola would destroy the island’s tourism industry, which makes up 60 percent of its GDP.

The U.S. government has been reticent to impose a travel ban on Ebola-affected countries.


Related Posts